Daily Archives: 24 April 2010

Stupid Question

One thing I learned while working at the title/escrow company was the fact that there are no stupid questions. Even the most seasoned escrow officer would ask a question if there was any doubt. It was indicated that the only stupid thing would be not to ask the question. Not asking a question puts unnecessary risk into any transaction. It is always best to ask even if you “think” you know the answer to the question.

I have a great group of people who I trust that I will ask when I need a second set of eyes on a problem. Different people see things from different perspectives. With my title and escrow background I can see that there could be issues if a person has financial problems and is attempting to sell a property. I always check to see if taxes are current and if there are any liens on the property. These are things that can complicate a transaction. There is nothing wrong with not knowing the answer to a question. In fact it would be impossible to know everything. What is important is to know how to obtain information if needed. I am lucky in that my time at the title/escrow company gave me many other contacts of whom I can ask more technical property questions. I don’t know all of the answers but I know where to find them.

There will always be questions when purchasing or selling Tucson Real Estate. If you ever have a question regarding a transaction that you are involved in don’t be afraid to ask. If one person doesn’t know the answer to your question ask somebody else. Eventually you will find the answer you need and save yourself possible problems in the future.